Stand or die: How can you stop writing from killing you?

Image: Pixabay

Image: Pixabay

I’ve read a lot recently about how a sedentary lifestyle is gradually killing us all.

Now, we all know this. We’re not stupid. No matter how unappealing it may be to the more lumpy of us, we know that taking regular exercise will help keep our weight and blood pressure down, reduce our risk of type 2 diabetes etc ad nauseum.

BUT …

Studies now say that even for those who exercise regularly, if you sit down driving and at a desk all day, you’re still putting your health at risk and going to the gym a few times a week may not be enough to combat the negative affect.

As a writer, office worker, general layabout, what are you doing to combat this?

I have noticed that as I’ve written more, my fitness (frankly pretty woeful anyway) has deteriorated and the chub round my waist has increased. To try and stop from dropping dead at 50, I’ve started exercising more, eating less junk (woe, woe, woe is me!) and am trying to write standing up – at least some of the time. As I can’t afford a fancy stand up writing desk, I improvise on the kitchen counter – with a shoe box to lift my laptop to a more comfortable height. 

Were you aware of this risk to your health? If so , what are you doing to fend off Death’s icy grip?

Do let me know. We need to brainstorm this thing, people or writers may become as endangered as white rhinos and teenagers who don’t use a rising inflection at the end of every sentence. 

7 thoughts on “Stand or die: How can you stop writing from killing you?

  1. Yeah, I heard this on the news too. No clue what to do about it though. Is there voice transcription software that exists? Doing the treadmill while writing would be great! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, a very good idea. I know of several writers who use this software, though I believe it can be a little unreliable. I saw a desk on a technology show a few weeks ago that had a treadmill attached to it. In fact, a quick flick through the net shows there are a lot around – pricey, though. You need to pace yourself, though, or the words dance around and you can’t hit the keyboard!
      http://www.digitaltrends.com/features/why-you-should-try-using-a-treadmill-desk-at-work/

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for passing this on- it’s really interesting. Yes, you’re right, for every study saying one thing, they’ll be another stating the opposite. All we can do is be sensible – everything in moderation 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

