Halloween trailer: Season of plastic fangs and pumpkin gloop

Image: Pixabay

Image: Pixabay

Oh, my loves, it’s nearly that time of year again. You know the one I mean.

The supermarket shelves are heaving with enough black polyester lace to bring a gang of Girl Guides out in hives (What’s the collective noun for Girl Guides anyway? A pod? A shriek? A toadstool?). Plastic fangs and tridents litter the aisles. Pumpkins, cobwebs, false fingernails, automated skeletons … Every shop looks like a garage sale at that nice Mr and Mrs Dracula’s house.

In truth, the most terrifying thing is the amount of sugar on sale. Honestly, how can dentists be amongst the most depressed folk on the planet, when we keep eating this crap and throwing money at them to fix the ensuing problems?

All of this adds up to? No, not a Tory Party Conference, but

HALLOWEEN

However, everything I’ve mentioned above, the commercial, tacky side of Halloween isn’t the best bit.

No, the best bits are the scary stories, the myths, the legends, the feeling that at this time of year, the web between our world and the next might be a tiny bit thinner, that we really should be staying home and hiding under the covers.

To celebrate, all my posts between the 25th and 31st of October will bring you stories, music, film, TV and anything else I spot that might give you the creeps and stop you from sleeping soundly in your beds.

You have been warned. Mwoo-hah-hah-hah! 


This season of events is inspired by the wonderful work of Walt Walker at Waltbox, whose inspiring October posts have made me so envious, I want to get in on the terrifying action. Here’s to you, maestro.

7 thoughts on “Halloween trailer: Season of plastic fangs and pumpkin gloop

    1. I know, me too. In fact, I’ve thought of so many creepy things I love and want to blog about, I’m not sure I’ll have time to write about it all. Should’ve done a month’s worth 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

