Friday Fictioners: Mocking the forgotten dead

Jhardy

PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll

Shutters make the windows turn a blind eye – always a blind eye. A breeze blows the limbs of skeletal trees, bony twigs ticking a non-rhythm. Gates hold tufted grass and last year’s crisply fallen leaves prisoner.

A Death’s Head moth – woken early by a fragile burst of sun – batters his powdery wings against the bars. Once, twice, he bounces against the metal then away, flitting over the condemned cells, the exercise yard – the long drop – his careless freedom mocking the forgotten dead.

The breeze steals away to brighter places and leaves the building to its past.

****************************

Saw this lovely photo prompt (originally from Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s Friday Fictioners) on Ga H Learner’s blog and had to join in. Two pic prompts in one day? What am I like?

See the full rules here.

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “Friday Fictioners: Mocking the forgotten dead

    1. Thank you! Such a great picture. I liked the idea of an old prison that was so dominant when in use and has now lost its power. I don’t blame the breeze – I’d move on too 🙂 Thanks for reading

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. I always think of myself as a prose writer, but with flash it’s very easy to tip over into poetry – for me anyway.
      Thank you – very kind

      Like

      1. Really, thank you. It still surprises and delights me when someone likes what I’ve written. And especially if they take the time to tell me so. Thank you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Beautiful! I like the way you draw the reader through the scene and then away on that breeze.
    I love the resonance of death, dead; prisoner, steals etc. Very cleverly done.
    (The only word I’d change (not that it’s mine to change!) is the word prisoner which I’d put after the word hold.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, that’s a good spot – I agree, it would read much better like that. So hard to see these things in your’e own writing sometimes 🙂 And thank you for the gracious words – you’re very kind 🙂

      Like

    1. Thanks Rochelle. Have floated around the edges of Friday Fictioneers for a while, reading but not diving in. But that last photo was very inspiring. 🙂 Thanks for the prompt and thanks for reading

      Like

Leave a Reply

