#tuesdayuseitinasentence: Cut / Fell / Splat

Crevasse with climbers

Image : Pixabay

 

 

She stared down at the Scrabble board. ‘XERIC?’ she said.

‘Yes.’

‘That’s not a word.’

‘Yes it is. Look it up.’

Cream tiles littered the green and pink landscape, his AILERON soaring over double and triple word scores, the glacial MORAINE and CREVASSE stretching across the steppe of cardboard and plasticised paper. All she’d created so far were a few stunted nubs – CUT, FELL and SPLAT.

She refused to give him the satisfaction of reaching for the dictionary only to find he was right – as he always was.

She smiled. ‘I have something for you.’

Slowly, she produced a

DAGGER.

****************************************************

Written for My Loving Wife’s #tuesdayuseitinasentence. See the word – this week was XERIC – and think of some other words to put round it. Full Ts and Cs here.

17 thoughts on “#tuesdayuseitinasentence: Cut / Fell / Splat

    1. Haha! So did I. Not a word you’d use in everyday conversation. Then I thought of a Scrabble player showing off and I was away. Ta for reading, lovely. Hope you’ve got sunshine over there and bees are buzzing in your garden 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Ah, those pink and green squares. The photo really grabbed me, I’ve done some climbing around glaciers like that. Terrific image, good words, triple score. I had a last date with a girl I really liked once and we played Scrabble, and I used my last “U” to make the word “Us,” and gave her a look, and that was that. Her choice, probably for the best. But we could have had some F-U-N, still.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

