#tuesdayuseitinasentence: When did you become so jaded?

overflowing ashtray

Image: Pixbay

‘When did you become so jaded?’ he says, lying back in my sofa, his feet on the arm.

I can smell his socks, see the sprinkling of ash from his cigarette greying my rug. He’s picking the last of my smoked salmon from his teeth with the pin of the silver brooch Nan left me and I can’t even make a cup of tea because he’s drunk the last of it, stowing the empty bottle back in the fridge.

‘When I took in a lodger,’ I say, dumping his bags on the floor.

*********************************

Written for My Loving Wife’s #tuesdayuseitinasentence. See the word – this week it’s JADED – and use it in a sentence or blog post. Great fun – play along here.

10 thoughts on “#tuesdayuseitinasentence: When did you become so jaded?

Leave a Reply

