Moral Mondays : The return of the corduroy kid

Corduroy jacket with metal button

Image : Pixabay

 

‘You’re wearing that jacket?’ said Nell.

‘Yes,’ said Dad.

‘It’s a bit 1985 Geography teacher.’

‘It’s retro. Corduroy will make a comeback.’

‘Not in your lifetime. Mine, maybe.’

‘Thanks for reminding me how ancient I am.’

‘Are you nervous?’

‘A bit.’

‘How long is it since you dated?’

‘Put it this way, I’d just bought this jacket.’

‘Lord. Just don’t come across as desperate. Floss between courses and don’t put out on the first date.’

‘Nell!’

‘Just … Make her realise how great you are first.’

‘Thanks, love.’

‘Now, go on. And careful coming home.’

‘Night.’

‘Night, Dad.’

 


 

For Nortina’s Moral Mondays. See the moral – this week is lessons from Dad – and write a story in 100 words or fewer. See here for full Ts and Cs.

24 thoughts on “Moral Mondays : The return of the corduroy kid

  1. Sweet… it reminds me of the time – over thirty years ago – my ex husband went on his first date after we split up. After what I had done to him I just wanted him to ne happy, so I thought the way I fussed over him choosing the right clothes, and the advice I gave, was appropriate. He didn’t. He was an unusually placid man, but he finally blew up as I was adjusting his shirt collar and telling him to treat her with respect
    He returned home (we were still living in the same house) at four in the morning with his shirt buttoned up wrong and a daft smile across his face. Apparently SHE hadn’t treated HIM with respect, and he’d had a great night 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure later he realised that you did it with good intentions. And maybe that straightened collar made all the difference 🙂 Thanks for reading, Jane

      Like

    1. Haha! Yes. Talk about role reversal! Though that really happens as your parents age. I do hope the date wasn’t put off by the corduroy jacket 🙂 Thanks for the great prompt, Nortina

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

