Moral Mondays: No blessing from my lips

 

Lidice children memorial

‘Bless those who curse you,’ he says, laying a gnarly hand on my arm before he hobbles back to the car.

By my feet are soft toys – teddy bears bleached by the sun, rabbits whose fur has turned straggly in the rain. There are dozens of them in front of the plaque, poking from the greenery below the statues.

I find it hard to look at the bronze faces of the children. How the real boys and girls would have loved those toys, loved to have the chance to play.

A blessing is the last thing on my lips.

 


Written for Nortina’s Moral Mondays. Take the moral – this week it’s Bless those who curse you – and write a tale in 100 words or fewer.

When I saw today’s moral, I had just read a piece about the town of Lidice in the former Czechoslovakia that was razed to the ground by the Nazis in retaliation for the assassination  of Reinhard Heydrich, the author of the Final Solution – the plan to exterminate the Jews.

There is a touching memorial on the site of the town to all the children from there who were murdered. If you’d like to learn more about Lidice’s tragic history, see here.

15 thoughts on “Moral Mondays: No blessing from my lips

    1. Yes, very true. A horrifying story that shows what happens when people think of other communities as ‘other’ from themselvs. Thanks very much for reading 🙂

      Like

    1. Yes, absolutely. I wish I’d been able to write something else, but after seeing the memorial and reading about Lidice I coudln’t. People can also be wonderful too. Must remember that 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow! Such a haunting scene you’ve illustrated here. And that statue is so realistic, as if the children were frozen in the bronze in their agony. So heartbreaking. It’s terrifying, the atrocities humans commit when they’re motivated by hatred. Beautiful writing, though it’s not a beautiful subject in the least.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nortina. Yes, I found it quite upsetting to write as I’d just read the article about Lidice, all of those images still fresh in my head. The tragedy is humans never learn from the horrors of the past. Thanks for another great prompt 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

