#tuesdayuseitinasentence: Void

Silhouette against a green and purple sky

Image: Pixabay

I say I am hurt. You say nothing.

I say my head is too heavy to lift from the pillow. You look away.

I say every part of me hurts. You rise, calm, silent and drift from the room.

I drag myself to where you are, press your fingers to my exposed bones, show you my desecrated heart.

But all you have – the whir and click of your brain, the bellow wheeze in your lungs – can only be for you.

For me, there is only a void.

 


Written for Stephanie at Word Adventure’s #tuesdayuseitinasentence. See the word, use it in a sentence or post. See here to join in and to read the other tales.

10 thoughts on “#tuesdayuseitinasentence: Void

    1. I like that idea too! Pretty sure some relationships feel like that – sharing your life with a ghoul. I’m always fascinated when you see couples like that in restaurants – the ones who never speak to eahc other, just stare at their food or around the room at other people. Two empty vessels together.
      Thanks so much for reading and for the great comment, Walt 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

