Friday Fictioneers : Up in the high castle where the wind blows cruel

 

PHOTO PROMPT © Magaly Guerrero

PHOTO PROMPT © Magaly Guerrero


 

Put on the shoes.

Momba ignored the voice and turned over, pulling the bedcovers up to her ears. The storm beat at the castle, rattling the casements like a dozen jaws chattering with fear.

Put on the shoes. The girl is coming.

What if she refused, disappeared, became someone else? Something else? But without evil there could be no heroes and people needed heroes.

Besides, chuckled the Magic Ball, you’re so good at it.

Momba pushed back the covers, slipping the shoes on her emerald feet. ‘Oh, I am.’ she said, allowing herself a small cackle.

 


Written for Rochelle Wisoff-Field’s Friday Fictioneers. See the prompt and write a tale and visit here to read the other stories.

I know anyone who’s seen Wicked will think the Wicked Witch of the West’s name is Elphaba, but in the 1910 silent film The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, the title cards call her Momba, so I went with that.

 

 

40 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers : Up in the high castle where the wind blows cruel

    1. I think they do, don’t they? Heroes aren’t much to admire if they don’t have a baddy to prove how marvellous they are. When I was at (Catholic) school, I remember feeling sympathy for Judas, because without him betraying Jesus, there would be no crucifixion, resurrection, saving of mankind. Poor old Judas. Thanks for reading Neil 🙂

      Like

  1. Patchy posting’s OK of course…life gets in the way…I find though that ironically, if I slip out it’s harder to slip back in. Nice to see you keeping the proverbial tips sharp 🙂 Bill

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, you’re right about stepping away and finding it harder to step back in. Though still rattling away at the WIP, so not slacking on the writing, just the blog. It does take up a lot of time and though I love it, there are only so many hours in the day 🙂

      Like

      1. I have been thinking that about the blog vs WIP vs hours in the day and I might need a change myself with that ratio.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s tough. Blogging has been brilliant for me. Quite apart from the social side, it bolsters my confidence through story rejections and long hours writing alone. But it takes a lot of time to maintain if you’re going to write regularly and reply to all the comments and read other blogs. Too much time really. Hope you can achieve the balance you’re hoping for

        Like

    1. Ooh, good! No one is ever entirely good or entirely bad. Though granted some are bad enough you wouldn’t want to hang around searching for the good! Thanks for reading

      Like

  2. I love this one sent. It sent my thoughts whizzing into all sorts of entertaining thoughts about choices and good versus evil and such.
    I have a pair of shoes almost like that. I bought them for weddings and funerals, but maybe they could serve other purposes too… should I put them on, I wonder 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why not give them a run out? Sounds like it could be fun. Good vs evil becomes a more complicated issue as you get older and realise good people can do bad things and vice versa. Black and white and a whole world of grey in between. Thanks so much for reading Jane 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.