What Pegman Saw : The king of meaningless expressions

 

The sun slumped low in the sky as we pulled into the drive-in. Kids clustered at the entrance, the girls whispering and giggling behind cupped hands, a boy tossing a ball on baked concrete.

Mansell turned off the engine, cuffing his top lip. His shirt collar was dark with sweat, his tie hanging limp. ‘Damn this weather, eh? Hot as asses out here.’

My partner was king of the meaningless expression.

Pulling on his suit jacket, he nodded towards the drive-in shelter, its corrugated iron roof, its strings of dusty bunting. ‘The boy’s parents run this place, you say?’

I checked the manila file on my lap. ‘For the last five years. Mother and stepfather.’

He opened the door to the SUV, pulling his jacket collar straight. ‘I’ll lead.’ He nodded to the open file. ‘Keep those photographs hidden. We need answers – the sight of blood only ever brings more questions.’

 


Written for What Pegman Saw, a photo prompt using Google Streetview. See here to join in and to join in.

 

 

 

 

29 thoughts on “What Pegman Saw : The king of meaningless expressions

    1. Thank you so much. Yes, I’ve never written crime fiction – well, not out and out crime fiction – but quite enjoy a little wander along those alleyways a little. You have to love a flawed detective 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, thank you so much Penny. I don’t write crime fiction – well, not true, pure crime fiction – but the odd time I dabble in these scenarios, with detectives at crime scenes … Well, it just feels very comfortable to write! If I could think of a plot for these guys I would write more. Thank you so much for the encouragement 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Jane. A truly valued comment. I may well be drawn to crime fiction one day. Love writing those world weary detective characters! 🙂 Truly, I’ll remember that comment

      Like

  1. Superb. Tense and clean, with lots of information given without any exposition. The dialog and observations of each character give you a sense of what they are like, and the tickler at the end leaves you wanting more. A stellar read all around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Josh. I do enjoy these little loops around crime fiction. Maybe one day I’ll think of a plot and write a full length novel in the genre. just wondering, though. I wrote this post at the start of June – why has it had lots more reads and comments this week?

      Like

    1. Thanks so much. I’m glad you liked it enough to want to know more. I’ve dabbled in crime fiction for a few flash pieces but nothing longer. Maybe one day … Thanks for reading

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Karen. Really glad you liked it. Any idea, though, why a flurry have people have read it over the last few days? I posted this at the start of June and haven’t reposted. Just curious. Thanks so much for reading

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Than you Alicia. I’ve said on other comments, I quite enjoy writing crime fiction shorts, Maybe one day I’ll get a plotline together and actually write a novel. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

