Poetry Tuesday: Leaving Annalise

Little girl in a garden

Image : Pixabay

Greetings and welcome to Poetry Tuesdays. Don’t worry, I won’t impose my own deformed haikus or mangled iambic pentameter on you. I’m going to hand you over to a guest who’s much more experienced and eloquent than myself.

Her name is Maureen Cullen, she’s a fine poet and an old writing group pal of mine. This week and next, I’ll be featuring Maureen’s poetry on the run up to a reading taking place soon – details below.

One small note: Maureen’s beautiful words are written in Scots dialect and there may be some you’re unfamiliar with. My advice is go with it – it’s gorgeous, lyrical stuff and you’ll get the gist, never fear.

Now, here’s Maureen.

These are two poems from work in progress about my protagonist, Maisie, who is a child in foster care who is subsequently adopted and then, as a young adult becomes interested in her roots. The poems follow her as she grows. 16 other poems from the collection have recently been published as part of Primers, Volume One, a collaboration between The Poetry School and Nine Arches Press, featuring myself and three other poets, Geraldine Clarkson, Katie Griffiths and Lucy Ingrams. We will be reading from the book at The Albion Beatnik Bookstore in Oxford on 11th July . If you are in the area we would love to see you.

The book can be purchased at:http://ninearchespress.com/shop.html#!/Poetry-Books/c/8486213/offset=0&sort=addedTimeDesc


 

Leaving Annalise

The day ah’ve no tae greet or stomp

or squeal or huff

or pull at Sammy’s tail.

Mammy Annalise says we must be mice,

so we whisper, point, tiptoe an zip-it.

Ah hope firever’s jist a wee short while

cause ah’ll miss ma pals

an Missus Gordon

an even Sammy. Who’ll braid ma plaits,

make ma tum a bowl o cream,

tuck ma mittens in ma pocket?

Who’ll smell like wine gums aw day long,

an sing ma sums fir me tae learn? Whit aboot

ma snuggle place on Mammy’s knee?

Who’ll change ma sheet when it gets soaked?

Who’ll sprinkle talc on ma sore bum?

25 thoughts on “Poetry Tuesday: Leaving Annalise

    1. Just shoving my two pennorth in here. She’s marvellous, isn’t she? A very gifted poet. The rest in the ‘Maisie’ series are equally moving and marvellous. Glad you liked it, Casey 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe email WordPress. It’s a fun challenge but it slows me down so I don’t always comment. 😉 I love everything you write, though, so just as long as you know that. 🙂 ( and I’m going to have to check out Maureen’s book.)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Just from your writing, I can tell you are one of the good ones. Thanks for that! We adopted a boy and girl (siblings) via foster care. They’ve been with us almost 5 years.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Lynn, I love the fact that you’ve posted Maureen’s poem. She is brilliant – I’ve been very privileged to read Maureen’s Maisie series. The poems are so well observed and always bring a mixture of real sadness, grief, tenderness, sense of humour, love, and happiness too. Always a great read and wonderful to re-visit this one. You’re a creative force and a star, Maureen and you deserve acknowledgement for your wonderful poetry – and short stories too. Well done on Primers too. Hope the next reading goes well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s just gorgeous. It reiterates that the sound of the language is as much the content, how they’re inseparable. I love it. It reminds me of being there, of course, and I can hear the music in it. Excited for more. Bill

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t she wonderful? I’ve had the honour of reading quite a lot of Maureen’s poetry and prose and she’s so very talented, it makes me seethe with jealousy 🙂
      Her ‘voice’ in the Maisie poems in just gorgeous – she takes you right into the moment, right into Maisie’s head. She really needs to be better known.
      Thanks so much for reading Bill. She will see your comment, I’m sure 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Bill and Trish. Sorry to be late to reply. Didn’t realise you had commented. Your words are particularly helpful today as I have the poetry reading tonight and as usual, the nerves are hitting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.