Three Line Tales : A golden invitation

three line tales writing challenge week 56: the lady with the Chevrolet

photo by Clem Onojehungo via Unsplash


 

She’s looks like someone from the past – tailored jacket open to reveal the feathered skin at her neck, gloved hand resting on the Chevy’s tailgate like an invitation but to something I don’t know yet.

There’s a smile as I pass, small, shy. I smile back, though I snap it off quickly as she’s a stranger and I’m not meant to.

A few more steps and I would have been gone, her smile drowned in the schoolyard’s buzz. ‘Hey,’ she calls and I turn. She’s smiling properly now and laying in the palm of her glove is a golden key.

 


Written for Sonya at Only 100 Word’s Three Line Tales. See here to join in and to read the other stories.

6 thoughts on “Three Line Tales : A golden invitation

  1. I like the collision between the slightly unreal (the stylish individual out of her time) and the plausible fantastical (the proffered key from a stranger just happens to be gold, as if in a folktale). It could go so many ways — a promotional gimmick selling a dream house or a holiday cruise on the one hand; or a fairytale in a modern guise, a portal fantasy like Alice in the 20th Century. So much packed in three lines/paragraphs. ♡ it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Chris. Yes, I wonder where the key could lead. Such wonderful things, mysterious keys, so full of potential.Thanks so much for reading

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.