Three Line Tales : You, me, us

 

three line tales week 68: a whole bunch of graduates at their graduation ceremony

photo by Faustin Tuyambaze via Unsplash


 

It’s hot in the auditorium, summer sun blazing through the high windows, open doors drawing through little but traffic noise, the metallic whirr of labouring air con.

Three years on from my first day on campus, my first glimpse of your dark, clipped hair, your shy, clipped smile.

Does anyone here miss you except me? Resentment bubbles at the thought of all these smiling people, caught in their selfish, happy bubbles and not one giving you a thought. But that feels right too – it was always you, always me, always us alone. The chancellor stands, smooths her gown and starts to speak.

 


Written for Sonya at Only 100 Words’ Three Line Tales. See the pic and write a story. Go here to read the other entries and to join in with your own.

4 thoughts on “Three Line Tales : You, me, us

  1. That’s such a universal experience, I think; that weird realization that the rest of the world keeps going and laughing and the sun keeps shining even though your own personal world is a destroyed chaos; like you’re walking around in your own bubble of hell and nobody else notices.

    I like the repetition of clipped with its two meanings. Nicely done!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I remember when my Dad died, it felt surprising that the world still continued as normal even though something so very shocking had happened. Such is the way the world turns and quite right too. Death is all part of life and it should be a comfort that life in general perseveres through individual passings. Thanks so much for reading Joy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exactly. And I felt it as a great comfort too, to think that the world keeps going, and “quite right too” as you put it. When you think about it, there is always something horrible happening to someone, every second of every day. If the whole world stopped to be sad about it every time, we would be in perpetual mourning, and there would be no joy in the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wise words, Joy. Our own personal tragedies can’t stop the world from turning. I like the idea of life continuing without me too, of the world spinning, the moon still rising. Hope at new life, always 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.