What Pegman Saw : The sun finally sets


 

Water laps the shore, the wind rising up sharply as the sun is swallowed by distant crags. For a moment the lake shines gold, fingers of light shivering, reaching towards me. Then light snuffs out, the orange sky sliding through green to midnight blue. Cold rises from the lake, from the grit beneath my feet.

A hand grips my shoulder. ‘Come in the house now,’ he says.

For a second I pull against him but the fight in me quickly fades. I cannot stop this anymore than I could stop the sun from setting. He leads me inside.

 


Written for What Pegman Saw, the writing prompt that uses Google Streetview. See the location and write a tale and don’t forget to share, read and comment. See here and click on the blue frog.

12 thoughts on “What Pegman Saw : The sun finally sets

  1. Oh my goodness, that story is as dark and cold as the Arctic night. I genuinely shuddered as I read the last line. The falling of physical darkness anticipates the falling of emotional and ethical darkness and makes it so much more dreadful.
    You’ve written a little masterpiece, Lynn.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Penny. It took a very dark turn that – I gave myself shivers there. I really should try to write something more cheerful! Thanks so much for your encouragement

      Liked by 1 person

    1. A grim tale this. I was reading about the area, the climate, the history and the midnight sun and it was the long, dark winter months that stuck, that snuffing out of light. I need to write something cheerful! Thanks Karen

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn, I particularly liked, the orange sky sliding through green to midnight blue Almost like a shutter going down and shutting out light and life. There is a feeling of melancholy about it. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.